College Football Awards: Walter Payton Award Winners

Below is a list of past winners of the Walter Payton Award, which is given to the Football Championship Subdivision (formerly Division I-AA) Offensive Player of the Year.

YearPlayer, School
2022Lindsey Scott Jr., Incarnate Word
2021Eric Barriere, Eastern Washington
2020Cole Kelley, Southeastern Louisiana
2019Trey Lance, North Dakota State
2018Devlin Hodges, Samford
2017Jeremiah Briscoe, Sam Houston State
2016Jeremiah Briscoe, Sam Houston State
2015Cooper Kupp, Eastern Washington
2014John Robertson, Villanova
2013Jimmy Garappolo, Eastern Illinois
2012Taylor Heinicke, Old Dominion
2011Bo Levi Mitchell, Eastern Washington
2010Jeremy Moses, Stephen F. Austin
2009Armanti Edwards, Appalachian State
2008Armanti Edwards, Appalachian State
2007Jayson Foster, Southern
2006Ricky Santos, New Hampshire
2005Erik Meyer, Eastern Washington
2004Lang Campbell, William & Mary
2003Jamaal Branch, Colgate
2002Tony Romo, Eastern Illinois
2001Brian Westbrook, Villanova
2000Louis Ivory, Furman
1999Adrian Peterson, Georgia Southern
1998Jerry Azumah, New Hampshire
1997Brian Finneran, Villanova
1996Archie Amerson, Northern Arizona
1995Dave Dickenson, Montana
1994Steve McNair, Alcorn State
1993Doug Nussmeier, Idaho
1992Michael Payton, Marshall
1991Jamie Martin, Weber State
1990Walter Dean, Grambling State
1989John Friesz, Idaho
1988Dave Meggett, Towson
1987Kenny Gamble, Colgate

More college football awards:

More awards:

Check out more of our content:

Keep track of our site's updates: (1) follow us on Twitter, (2) like us on Facebook and/or (3) subscribe to our newsletter.