Follow us:
Home Blog
CFB Home

College Football: ACC Coach of the Year Award Winners

Below is a list of past winners of the Atlantic Coast Conference (ACC) Coach of the Year Award.

More ACC college football awards:

+ MORE: College football awards - national and conference awards

+ More sports: NFL Awards - MLB Awards - NBA Awards

YearCoach, School
2021Dave Clawson, Wake Forest
2020Brian Kelly, Notre Dame
2019Scott Satterfield, Louisville
2018Dabo Swinney, Clemson
2017Mark Richt, Miami (FL)
2016Justin Fuente, Virginia Tech
2015Dabo Swinney, Clemson
2014Paul Johnson, Georgia Tech
2013David Cutcliffe, Duke
2012David Cutcliffe, Duke
2011Mike London, Virginia
2010Ralph Friedgen, Maryland
2009Paul Johnson, Georgia Tech
2008Paul Johnson, Georgia Tech
2007Al Groh, Virginia
2006Jim Grobe, Wake Forest
2005Frank Beamer, Virginia Tech
2004Frank Beamer, Virginia Tech
2003Tommy Bowden, Clemson
2002Al Groh, Virginia
2001Ralph Friedgen, Maryland
2000George O'Leary, Georgia Tech
1999Tommy Bowden, Clemson
1998George O'Leary, Georgia Tech
1997Bobby Bowden, Florida State
1996Mack Brown, North Carolina
1995George Welsh, Virginia
1994Fred Goldsmith, Duke
1993Bobby Bowden, Florida State
1992Bill Dooley, Wake Forest
1991George Welsh, Virginia
1990Bobby Ross, Georgia Tech
1989Steve Spurrier, Duke
1988Steve Spurrier, Duke
1987Bill Dooley, Wake Forest
1986Dick Sheriden, North Carolina State
1985Bill Curry, Georgia Tech
1984George Welsh, Virginia
1983George Welsh, Virginia
1982Bobby Ross, Maryland
1981Danny Ford, Clemson
1980Dick Crum, North Carolina
1979John Mackovic, Wake Forest
1978Charley Pell, Clemson
1977Charley Pell, Clemson
1976Jerry Claiborne, Maryland
1975Jerry Claiborne, Maryland
1974Red Parker, Clemson
1973Jerry Claiborne, Maryland
1972Lou Holtz, North Carolina State
1971Bill Dooley, North Carolina
1970Cal Stoll, Wake Forest
1969Paul Dietzel, South Carolina
1968George Blackburn, Virginia
1967Earle Edwards, North Carolina State
1966Frank Howard, Clemson
1965Earle Edwards, North Carolina State
1964William Tate, Wake Forest
1963(tie) Earle Edwards, North Carolina State and James Hickey, North Carolina
1962Bill Murray, Duke
1961William Elias, Virginia
1960Bill Murray, Duke
1959Paul Amen, Wake Forest
1958Frank Howard, Clemson
1957Earle Edwards, North Carolina State
1956Paul Amen, Wake Forest
1955Jim Tatum, Maryland
1954Bill Murray, Duke
1953Jim Tatum, Maryland

More awards:

Check out more of our content:

Keep track of our site's updates: (1) follow us on Twitter, (2) like us on Facebook and/or (3) subscribe to our newsletter.