College Football Awards: Jim Thorpe Award Winners

Below is a list of past winners of the Jim Thorpe award, which is given to the nation's best defensive back in college football.

YearPlayer, School
2023Trey Taylor, Air Force
2022Tre'vius Hodges-Tomlinson, TCU
2021Coby Bryant, Cincinnati
2020Trevon Moehrig, TCU
2019Grant Delpit, LSU
2018Deandre Baker, Georgia
2017Minkah Fitzpatrick, Alabama
2016Adoree' Jackson, USC
2015Desmond King, Iowa
2014Gerod Holliman, Louisville
2013Darqueze Dennard, Michigan State
2012Johnthan Banks, Mississippi State
2011Morris Claiborne, LSU
2010Patrick Peterson, LSU
2009Eric Berry, Tennessee
2008Malcolm Jenkins, Ohio State
2007Antoine Cason, Arizona
2006Aaron Ross, Texas
2005Michael Huff, Texas
2004Carlos Rogers, Auburn
2003Derrick Strait, Oklahoma
2002Terrence Newman, Kansas State
2001Roy Williams, Oklahoma
2000Jamar Fletcher, Wisconsin
1999Tyrone Carter, Minnesota
1998Antoine Winfield, Ohio State
1997Charles Woodson, Michigan
1996Lawrence Wright, Florida
1995Greg Meyers, Colorado State
1994Chris Hudson, Colorado
1993Antonio Langham, Alabama
1992Deon Figures, Colorado
1991Terrell Buckley, Florida State
1990Darryll Lewis, Arizona
1989Mark Carrier, USC
1988Deion Sanders, Florida State
1987Bennie Blades, Miami (FL) and Rickey Dixon, Oklahoma
1986Thomas Everett, Baylor

More college football awards:

More awards:

Check out more of our content:

Keep track of our site's updates: (1) follow us on Twitter, (2) like us on Facebook and/or (3) subscribe to our newsletter.