Follow us:
Home Blog

NBA History: NBA Finals Results

Below is a list of past NBA Finals champions as well as their opponent and the NBA Finals MVP.

YearChampionRunner-UpFinals MVP
2021Milwaukee BucksPhoenix SunsGiannis Antetokounmpo
2020Los Angeles LakersMiami HeatLeBron James
2019Toronto RaptorsGolden State WarriorsKawhi Leonard
2018Golden State WarriorsCleveland CavaliersKevin Durant
2017Golden State WarriorsCleveland CavaliersKevin Durant
2016Cleveland CavaliersGolden State WarriorsLeBron James
2015Golden State WarriorsCleveland CavaliersAndre Iguodala
2014San Antonio SpursMiami HeatKawhi Leonard
2013Miami HeatSan Antonio SpursLeBron James
2012Miami HeatOklahoma City ThunderLeBron James
2011Dallas MavericksMiami HeatDirk Nowitzki
2010Los Angeles LakersBoston CelticsKobe Bryant
2009Los Angeles LakersOrlando MagicKobe Bryant
2008Boston CelticsLos Angeles LakersPaul Pierce
2007San Antonio SpursCleveland CavaliersTony Parker
2006Miami HeatDallas MavericksDwyane Wade
2005San Antonio SpursDetroit PistonsTim Duncan
2004Detroit PistonsLos Angeles LakersChauncey Billups
2003San Antonio SpursNew Jersey NetsTim Duncan
2002Los Angeles LakersNew Jersey NetsShaquille O'Neal
2001Los Angeles LakersPhiladelphia 76ersShaquille O'Neal
2000Los Angeles LakersIndiana PacersShaquille O'Neal
1999San Antonio SpursNew York KnicksTim Duncan
1998Chicago BullsUtah JazzMichael Jordan
1997Chicago BullsUtah JazzMichael Jordan
1996Chicago BullsSeattle SuperSonicsMichael Jordan
1995Houston RocketsOrlando MagicHakeem Olajuwon
1994Houston RocketsNew York KnicksHakeem Olajuwon
1993Chicago BullsPhoenix SunsMichael Jordan
1992Chicago BullsPortland Trail BlazersMichael Jordan
1991Chicago BullsLos Angeles LakersMichael Jordan
1990Detroit PistonsPortland Trail BlazersIsiah Thomas
1989Detroit PistonsLos Angeles LakersJoe Dumars
1988Los Angeles LakersDetroit PistonsJames Worthy
1987Los Angeles LakersBoston CelticsMagic Johnson
1986Boston CelticsHouston RocketsLarry Bird
1985Los Angeles LakersBoston CelticsKareem Abdul-Jabbar
1984Boston CelticsLos Angeles LakersLarry Bird
1983Philadelphia 76ersLos Angeles LakersMoses Malone
1982Los Angeles LakersPhiladelphia 76ersMagic Johnson
1981Boston CelticsHouston RocketsCedric Maxwell
1980Los Angeles LakersPhiladelphia 76ersMagic Johnson
1979Seattle SuperSonicsWashington BulletsDennis Johnson
1978Washington BulletsSeattle SuperSonicsWestley Unseld
1977Portland Trail BlazersPhiladelphia 76ersBill Walton
1976Boston CelticsPhoenix SunsJoe White
1975Golden State WarriorsWashington BulletsRick Barry
1974Boston CelticsMilwaukee BucksJohn Havlicek
1973New York KnicksLos Angeles LakersWillis Reed
1972Los Angeles LakersNew York KnicksWilt Chamberlain
1971Milwaukee BucksBaltimore BulletsKareem Abdul-Jabbar
1970New York KnicksLos Angeles LakersWillis Reed
1969Boston CelticsLos Angeles LakersJerry West
1968Boston CelticsLos Angeles Lakers
1967Philadelphia 76ersSan Francisco Warriors
1966Boston CelticsLos Angeles Lakers
1965Boston CelticsLos Angeles Lakers
1964Boston CelticsSan Francisco Warriors
1963Boston CelticsLos Angeles Lakers
1962Boston CelticsLos Angeles Lakers
1961Boston CelticsSt. Louis Hawks
1960Boston CelticsSt. Louis Hawks
1959Boston CelticsMinneapolis Lakers
1958St. Louis HawksBoston Celtics
1957Boston CelticsSt. Louis Hawks
1956Philadelphia WarriorsFort Wayne Pistons
1955Syracuse NationalsFort Wayne Pistons
1954Minneapolis LakersSyracuse Nationals
1953Minneapolis LakersNew York Knicks
1952Minneapolis LakersNew York Knicks
1951Rochester RoyalsNew York Knicks
1950Minneapolis LakersSyracuse Nationals

History of championship winners in other sports:

Also, check out more of our content:

Check out our mock draft databases:

Keep track of our site's updates: (1) follow us on Twitter, (2) like us on Facebook and/or (3) subscribe to our newsletter.