College Football Awards: Chuck Bednarik Award Winners

Below is a list of past winners of the Chuck Bednarik award, which is given to the College Football Defensive Player of the Year.

YearPlayer, School
2022Will Anderson Jr., Alabama
2021Jordan Davis, Georgia
2020Zaven Collins, Tulsa
2019Chase Young, Ohio State
2018Josh Allen, Kentucky
2017Minkah Fitzpatrick, Alabama
2016Jonathan Allen, Alabama
2015Tyler Matakevich, Temple
2014Scooby Wright III, Arizona
2013Aaron Donald, Pittsburgh
2012Manti Te'o, Notre Dame
2011Tyrann Mathieu, LSU
2010Patrick Peterson, LSU
2009Ndamukong Suh, Nebraska
2008Rey Maualuga, USC
2007Dan Connor, Penn State
2006Paul Posluszny, Penn State
2005Paul Posluszny, Penn State
2004David Pollack, Georgia
2003Teddy Lehman, Oklahoma
2002E.J. Henderson, Maryland
2001Julius Peppers, North Carolina
2000Dan Morgan, Miami (FL)
1999LaVar Arrington, Penn State
1998Dat Nguyen, Texas A&M
1997Charles Woodson, Michigan
1996Pat Fitzgerald, Northwestern
1995Pat Fitzgerald, Northwestern
1994Warren Sapp, Miami (FL)
1993Rob Waldrop, Arizona

More college football awards:

Check out more of our content:

Keep track of our site's updates: (1) follow us on Twitter, (2) like us on Facebook and/or (3) subscribe to our newsletter.