Follow us:
Home Blog

AP NFL Coach of the Year Award Winners

Below is a list of past winners of the AP NFL Coach of the Year award. Prior to 1997, the award was split between conferences and each respective winner is listed below.

More coaching pages:
2021Mike Vrabel, Titans
2020Kevin Stefanski, Browns
2019John Harbaugh, Ravens
2018Matt Nagy, Bears
2017Sean McVay, Rams
2016Jason Garrett, Cowboys
2015Ron Rivera, Panthers
2014Bruce Arians, Cardinals
2013Ron Rivera, Panthers
2012Bruce Arians, Colts
2011Jim Harbaugh, 49ers
2010Bill Belichick, Patriots
2009Marvin Lewis, Bengals
2008Mike Smith, Falcons
2007Bill Belichick, Patriots
2006Sean Payton, Saints
2005Lovie Smith, Bears
2004Marty Schottenheimer, Chargers
2003Bill Belichick, Patriots
2002Andy Reid, Eagles
2001Dick Jauron, Bears
2000Jim Haslett, Saints
1999Dick Vermeil, Rams
1998Dan Reeves, Falcons
1997Jim Fassel, Giants
1996NFC: Dom Capers, Panthers; AFC: Tom Coughlin, Jaguars
1995NFC: Ray Rhodes, Eagles; AFC: Marty Schottenheimer, Chiefs
1994NFC: Dave Wannstedt, Bears; AFC: Bill Parcells, Patriots
1993NFC: Dan Reeves, Giants; AFC: Marv Levy, Bills
1992NFC: Dennis Green, Vikings; AFC: Bobby Ross, Chargers
1991NFC: Wayne Fontes, Lions; AFC: Dan Reeves, Broncos
1990NFC: Jimmy Johnson, Cowboys; AFC: Art Shell, Raiders
1989NFC: Lindy Infante, Packers; AFC: Dan Reeves, Broncos
1988NFC: Mike Ditka, Bears; AFC: Marv Levy, Bills
1987NFC: Jim Mora, Saints; AFC: Ron Meyer, Colts
1986NFC: Bill Parcells, Giants; AFC: Marty Schottenheimer, Browns
1985NFC: Mike Ditka, Bears; AFC: Raymond Berry, Patriots
1984NFC: Bill Walsh, 49ers; AFC: Chuck Knox, Seahawks
1983NFC: John Robinson, Rams; AFC: Chuck Knox, Seahawks
1982NFC: Joe Gibbs, Washington; AFC: Tom Flores, Raiders
1981NFC: Bill Walsh, 49ers; AFC: Forrest Gregg, Bengals
1980NFC: Leeman Bennett, Falcons; AFC: Sam Rutigliano, Browns
1979NFC: Jack Pardee, Washington; AFC: Sam Rutigliano, Browns
1978NFC: Dick Vermeil, Eagles; AFC: Walt Michaels, Jets
1977NFC: Leeman Bennett, Falcons; AFC: Red Miller, Broncos
1976NFC: Jack Pardee, Bears; AFC: Chuck Fairbanks, Patriots
1975NFC: Tom Landry, Cowboys; AFC: Ted Marchibroda, Colts
1974NFC: Don Coryell, Cardinals; AFC: Sid Gillman, Oilers
1973NFC: Chuck Knox, Rams; AFC: John Ralston, Broncos
1972NFC: Dan Devine, Packers; AFC: Chuck Noll, Steelers
1971NFC: George Allen, Washington; AFC: Don Shula, Dolphins
1970NFC: Alex Webster, Giants; AFC: Paul Brown, Bengals
1969NFL: Bud Grant, Vikings; AFL: Paul Brown, Bengals
1968NFL: Don Shula, Colts; AFL: Hank Stram, Chiefs
1967NFL: George Allen, Rams; AFL: John Rauch, Raiders
1966NFL: Tom Landry, Cowboys; AFL: Mike Holovak, Patriots
1965NFL: George Halas, Bears; AFL: Lou Saban, Bills
1964NFL: Don Shula, Colts; AFL: Lou Saban, Bills
1963NFL: George Halas, Bears; AFL: Al Davis, Raiders
1962NFL: Allie Sherman, Giants; AFL: Jack Faulkner, Broncos
1961NFL: Allie Sherman, Giants; AFL: Wally Lemm, Oilers
1960NFL: Buck Shaw, Eagles; AFL: Lou Rymkus, Oilers
1959NFL: Vince Lombardi, Packers
1958NFL: Weeb Ewbank, Colts
1957NFL: Paul Brown, Browns
1956NFL: Buddy Parker, Lions
1955NFL: Joe Kuharich, Washington

Check out more of our content:

Keep track of our site's updates: Follow us on Twitter, LIKE us on Facebook and/or Subscribe to our newsletter.