Follow us:
Home Blog

NFL Franchise Tag 2021

Updated: March 9, 2021

The deadline for NFL teams to place the franchise tag on one of their players (potential free agents) was Tuesday, March 9th at 4 p.m. ET.

Now that the deadline has passed, some of the players that did not get the franchise tag were Detroit's Kenny Golladay, Tampa's Shaquill Barrett, Pittsburgh's Bud Dupree and Green Bay's Aaron Jones, among others.

It's possible that some teams and franchised players will reach a long-term deal before the July 15th deadline, but the franchise tag prevents tagged players from reaching free agency when the new league year begins later this month.

While the Dallas Cowboys and Dak Prescott reached agreement on a four-year deal, the Cowboys technically franchise tagged Prescott again.

Players designated with the franchise tag in 2021

Allen RobinsonWRChicago Bears
Brandon ScherffGWashington Football Team
Cam RobinsonOTJacksonville Jaguars
Chris GodwinWRTampa Bay Buccaneers
Dak Prescott (see above)QBDallas Cowboys
Justin SimmonsSDenver Broncos
Leonard WilliamsDLNew York Giants
Marcus MayeSNew York Jets
Marcus WilliamsSNew Orleans Saints
Taylor MotonOTCarolina Panthers

Check out more of our content:

Keep track of our site's updates: (1) follow us on Twitter, (2) like us on Facebook and/or (3) subscribe to our newsletter.